Uttarakhand Open University (UOU)

Uttarakhand Open University (UOU) was established by an Act of Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly in 2005 (Act No. 23 of 2005) with the aim of disseminating knowledge and skills through distance learning, using the flexible and innovative methods of education to ensure ‘independent learning’.

The University uses novel educational programmes, various modes of communication technology and contact sessions to make distance learning more effective. The major objective of the University is to cater to the educational needs of the target groups to create skilled and knowledge based human resource for speedy upliftment and development of the State.

UOU offers its programmes through 300+ Study Centres established at different locations in the state under eight Regional Centres at Dehradun, Roorkee, Pauri, Uttarkashi, Dwarahat, Bageshwar, Haldwani and Pithoragarh.

Courses we offer:

S. No.Post GraduateProgramme / SubjectDuration & Eligibility
1.ITMCA, M.Sc. (IT) Duration: Three Years Eligibility: Graduate
2.ManagementMBADuration: Three Years Eligibility: Graduate
3.M.A. Hindi, English, Sanskrit, Economics, History, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, EducationDuration: Three Years Eligibility: Graduate
4.Social WorkMSWDuration: Three Years Eligibility: Graduate
5.CommerceM. Com.Duration: Three Years Eligibility: B.Com.
6.Law LLMDuration: Three Years Eligibility: Law Graduate
Under Graduate
1.ITBCA Duration: Three Years Eligibility: 12th
2.ManagementBBADuration: Three Years Eligibility: 12th
3.B.A. Hindi, English, Sanskrit, Economics, History, Political Science, Public Administration, SociologyDuration: Three Years Eligibility: 12th
4.CommerceB. Com.Duration: Three Years Eligibility: 12th
5.Special EducationB.ED. (MR)Duration: Two Years Eligibility: Graduate
Post Graduate Diploma
PGD-Marketing Management, PGD-Human Resource, PGD-Journalism & Mass CommunicationDuration: One Year Eligibility: Graduate